Multiaxial Classification of Mental Disorders, DSM-IV

DSM-IV-TR (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, text revision), the booklet of the American Psychiatrists Association (APA) is a leading diagnostic tool for most disorders. DSM uses a multi-axial approach, where Axis I indicates the presence of clinical disorders and mental retardation, Axis II personality disorders and mental retardation, Axis III current medical conditions, Axis IV psychosocial and environmental effects and Axis V the overall level of functioning.

Axis I – Clinical disorders; other conditions that may be a focus of clinical attention
Axis II – Personality disorders; mental retardation
Axis III – General medical conditions
Axis IV – Psychosocial and enviromental problems
Axis V – Global assessment of functioning